Chicken Adobo

One Filipino dish that I still have yet to master is the adobo. Adobo at home is swimming in a lot of its sauce, salty and a bit too thin or clear. Adobo that I like is a little bit sweet and sour, thick sauce with chicken that’s bathed in its delicious oil.

I’ve cooked adobo twice, but still not too happy with the results. Nevertheless, it’s a success so I will blog about it.

As usual, recipe is from Panlasang Pinoy here.

Ingredients:

2 lbs chicken, cut into serving pieces – 8 pcs. little drumsticks

3 pcs dried bay leaves

4 tbsp soy sauce – 1/2 cup dark soy sauce

4 tbsp vinegar – 1/4 cup

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups water – 1 cup

1/4 cup cooking oil

salt and pepper

Cooking procedure:

1. In a large container, combine the soy sauce and garlic then marinade the chicken overnight

2. Place the cooking oil in a pan and apply heat

3. When the oil is hot enough, put-in the marinated chicken

4. Add water and bring to a boil

5. Add the dried bay leaves and simmer for 30 minutes or until the chicken is tender

6. Add vinegar, salt, and pepper and simmer for 10 to 12 minutes

7. Serve hot. Share and Enjoy!

My Style:

I’ve marinated the chicken in a LOT of soy sauce. I am definitely not a stickler for accurate measurements of  ingredients.

And because I left the marinade in the fridge for several days with just aluminum foil covering it, the chicken meat kind of dried up.

Fried it for several minutes without the marinade.

This is before pouring in a cup of water and the rest of the marinade.

Think I shouldn’t be cooking it for a long time. Hmm…

A favorite side dish for Filipinos is Tomatoes in Fish Sauce. We usually have this with seafood or anything oily. But then, if you’re out of stuff to eat, you can just have tomatoes in fish sauce with rice!

It’s easy, just chop up tomatoes, pour fish sauce in, and let it sit for awhile. If fish sauce is not available, then just use rock salt instead.

This is actually leftover adobo, my lunch the other day.

Any suggestions on how to cook adobo will be appreciated. Still not satisfied with this recipe. Am I missing something?

