Bistek Tagalog (Beef Steak)

Bistek reminds me of carinderias in Philippines because it is where I usually have it as we don’t cook it at home. The beef is tender, swimming in oily beefy brown soup with massive amounts of soft onion rings, served with steaming rice.

Great soberer after a late night out!

I got the recipe from one of my favorite Pinoy food recipe site Panlasang Pinoy; Bistek Tagalog recipe here.

Ingredients:

1 lb beef sirloin (牛腩 niúnǎn), thinly sliced – bought a pack from Carrefour; less than half a kilo probably

1/4 cup soy sauce – poured to almost 1/3 of a bowl; used dark soy sauce

1 piece lemon or 3 pieces calamansi

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

3 cloves garlic, crushed

1 large onion, sliced into rings – my onion rings are terrible 😦

3 tbsp cooking oil – poured about palm-sized olive oil right on the pan

salt to taste – honestly forgot this; there’s soy sauce anyway


Cooking Procedure:

1. Marinade beef in soy sauce, lemon (or calamansi), and ground black pepper for at least 1 hour

2. Heat the cooking oil in a pan then stir fry the onion rings until the texture becomes soft. Set aside

3. In the same pan where the onions were fried, fry the marinated beef (without the marinade) until color turns brown. Set aside

4. Put-in the garlic then saute for a few minutes

5. Pour the marinade and bring to a boil.

6. Put in the fried beef and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes or until meat is tender. Add water as needed.

7. Add the stir-fried onions and some salt to taste.

8. Serve hot. Share and Enjoy!

So here’s my beef sirloin.

Chopped it to smaller pieces

Dipped them in soy sauce and lemon mixture. I’ve also added several dashes of Tabasco.

Waited for an hour… then started cooking the onions. It was actually a little bit burnt because I was busy taking photos.

I can’t believe I am actually using chopsticks.  Because instruction says leave the marinade, so I used chopsticks. But then after a while figured plastic chopsticks melt. I’d have to look for long wooden ones.

Simmering…

Lesson learned:

1. Beef or any kind of meat when cooked for a long time becomes chewy. I think I left it simmering for about 30 minutes… so I was quite disappointed it was chewy. Though other pieces were quite ok.

4 thoughts on “Bistek Tagalog (Beef Steak)

Leave a Reply

