Stuffed Ampalaya (Stuffed Bitter Gourd)

This is a post I’m not really proud of. It tastes good but it looks ugly. Didn’t I say I will blog of my cooking misadventures? So here is one proof that I’m not a good cook.

I actually wanted to impress Royal Chef with this fancy “stuffed bitter gourd” dish, but disappointingly failed.

Actually, the stuffing is not so bad, it’s the bitter gourd that is… well, bitter. Royal Chef, after taking a big bite, remarked “It does have a bitter aftertaste, no?”

I got the recipe from my trusty Pinoy recipe website, Panlasang Pinoy. It seemed easy enough, but no, the stuffing part is difficult, let me tell you. Stuffing meat  into that small hole is hard.

Uncooked stuffed bitter gourd. Looks nice. Read the rest of the page to see the cooked ugly stumps. 

Ingredients:

2 pieces ampalaya (about 1 to 12 inches each), cored and sliced about 2 inches – 4 pieces

1 lb ground pork

1 medium onion, minced

1 pc potato

3/4 cup carrots, minced

1 cup bread, shredded

1 teaspoon garlic powder – fried garlic

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon paprika – chili pepper

1 piece raw egg

Procedure:

I’ve fried the onions, garlic and a little bit of ginger then combined everything in a steel bowl. But unfortunately made a mistake of shredding the carrots and potatoes with the mandolin a little bit too long, so stuffing them in the bitter gourd resulted to little bits of orange and white sticking out. Tip: Finely chop the carrots and potatoes.

Pre-heated the oven to its maximum, 250F.

Buttered the steel oven pan with butter and stuck the bitter gourd stumps for close to 45 minutes.

Serve and semi-enjoy the stuffed bitter gourd, because like I said, it had a bitter aftertaste. 😦

PS. We had so much left over meat that I just fried it on a pan, and we finished that as well.

Photos:

Carving the bitter gourd was a lot of work. Is there an easy way around it? (I used Royal Chef’s fancy Zwilling J.A. Henckels paring knife, blog post here)

I am bad with chopping anything finely. So, I shredded the potato on a mandolin and chopped them haphazardly. 

As I also hate chopping onions (not because it makes me cry), so I had a brainwave and decided to run it through the mandolin…

…sad to say it didn’t work. 

Bitter gourd is bitter. Think I like them best stir-fried with pork and shrimp paste. 

The meat mixture. 

OH MY GOD I DON’T WANT TO SHOW THE FUGLY RESULT!!! GAH.

ok fine here it is. don’t laugh!!!

Lesson learned:

Should have put melted cheese as topping, that would be nice.

Used IKEA mayonnaise as the dip, greatly reduced the bitter taste.

I don’t think I want to cook anything bitter gourd next time 😦

One thought on “Stuffed Ampalaya (Stuffed Bitter Gourd)

Leave a Reply

