Pork Broccoli

Here’s one recipe that I’m quite comfortable to cook. After many attempts to replicate my mom’s beef broccoli (and still attempting), I can honestly say that I can cook a broccoli dish and feed it to my anyone and be proud of it.

I haven’t quite perfected my mom’s beef broccoli, so there’s no blog post about that yet. In this post, it’s pork broccoli. I’m not sure if I’ve had pork in broccoli before or if it works, but there’s ground pork in the fridge and I can’t be bothered to cook a time-consuming dish, so pork broccoli it is!

 

Ingredients:

2 cups broccoli

1 cup ground pork

Ground pepper to taste

For the sauce: 2 spoons cornstarch, 3-4 spoons oyster sauce mixed in 3/4 cup water

Following my mom’s instructions, the broccoli is boiled for 2-3 minutes and rinsed/soaked in cold water, to preserve its crunchiness.

Tip: Let the water boil first before putting the broccoli in so it doesn’t get soggy.

Next, I’ve smashed some garlic and fried it for 1-2 minutes until it’s almost brown, then put the pork in and fry for 2-3 minutes or until it loses its pink color. Then put the broccoli in for 2-3 minutes then pour the sauce in. Season with pepper to taste.

Keep mixing the broccoli and pork for another 2-3 minutes or until the sauce is a little bit thick. I’ve added few drops of Tabasco so it’ll be nice and spicy.

Good news, pork and broccoli works and even Royal Chef says it tastes good.

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

