Sichuan Peppercorn-crusted Duck Breast with Asian Veggies

Choosing the main dish for Chef is really hard, he loves his salmon, but he requested duck, because he loves duck.

I’ve made up my mind on Glazed Hoisin Duck recipe, but Chef is not impressed with the method. He said the to cook the breast over room-temperature pan, not on already-hot pan! So to prove his point, he searched some how-tos on Youtube, and came up with Gordon Ramsey’s Duck Breast with Gooseberry Sauce.

In the end, we changed the menu and method to fit Chef’s specs.

Birthday Dinner-8449

Ingredients: (serves 2)

2 duck breasts

Chinese five spice

Sichuan peppercorns – roasted and crushed

salt and pepper to taste

For the Asian veggies:

Garlic – chopped

Bokchoy

Spinach

oil

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

I just have to put it here, that I am extremely nervous and anxious to cook the duck. One wrong move, and it goes hard and chewy!

Tip: do not forget to let the duck breast to sit in room temperature before cooking.

1. Score the skin of duck breast diagonally, rub both sides thoroughly with Chinese five spice and sichuan peppercorns, salt and pepper to taste.

2. On a room-temp pan, place the duck breast skin down for 5 minutes on medium heat. Drain the rendered fat/oil, flip the breast over and cook for another 5 minutes. Check if the breast is cooked, if not, put in oven 100-150C for another 5 minutes. When done, let the duck breast rest for 5 minutes.

3. Stir fry the Asian greens. In a wok, heat oil, cook the garlic for a minute or two, throw in the bokchoy for 1 minute and follow with spinach, add 2 spoons water, stir for 30 seconds. Done.

Serve with rice.

Here’s one thing, Chef can’t help but hover around my cooking, so he made some sauce for the duck breast. Unfortunately, I was too busy to take down notes.

I do not have much photos of the food. Chef, of all people, is crap at taking photos at home. Sorry.

However, here’s proof that I did the cooking!! Do you like my checkered shirt? ha ha

me me me me me e

We’ve made so much duck breast over our blog:

DUCK BREAST SALAD WITH PINK GRAPEFRUIT,

DUCK BREAST SALAD WITH ORANGE

DUCK BREAST SALAD WITH POMELO

ROAST DUCK SALAD

 

One thought on “Sichuan Peppercorn-crusted Duck Breast with Asian Veggies

Leave a Reply

