Apple Flapjack Crumble

This would be the last post for Chef’s 3-course birthday dinner.

For starters, I made Smoked Salmon and Cream Rolls which I thought was very rich and fatty but delish;) And for mains, I cooked (for the first time) Sichuan peppercorn-crusted duck breast with asian veggies.

For Chef’s birthday dessert, I decided to go easy on myself and make apple crumble. I’ve never had this in Philippines and warm dessert is almost unheard of. I’ve only tried apple crumble twice, and it reminds me of Christmas or winter holidays.

And it seems like this is a very British dessert? Luckily, the recipe I found is even more British-ised by including flapjacks (really, it’s just oatmeal) in it!

Birthday Dinner-8481

Apple flapjack crumble with custard

Ingredients: (serves 2) Original recipe here

  • 2-3 eating apples – sliced
  • 3-4 tbsp apricot jam juice
  • 1/2 large orange
  • 75g porridge oats
  • 50g plain flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon Chinese five spice
  • 50g butter
  • 50g light muscovado sugar
  • 1 tbsp honey

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 190C/fan 170C/gas 5. Peel, core and thinly slice the apples and mix with the jam and orange juice. Spread evenly over a buttered small pyrex dish.
  2. Mix the oats, flour and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add the butter in small chunks and rub in gently. Stir in the sugar and rub in again. Drizzle over the honey, mixing with a knife so it forms small clumps. Sprinkle evenly over the apples and bake for 30-35 mins until the juices from the apples start to bubble up.
  3. Cool for 10 mins, then serve with custard, cream or ice cream.

Birthday Dinner-8473

So that, folks, is my proud cooking adventure for Chef’s birthday. My very first at cooking a 3-course dinner, which I think I passed with flying colors!

Leave a Reply

