Noodles with Sesame Chili Oil

Has it been two months since I last posted?? My god, we were so busy that we just don’t have time to cook something nice and take photos and blog about it. I only have two weeks left of work, then school’s out so I also get summer break!!

I’ve been wanting to blog in my portfolio (http://geraldinecuason.com) site but I’m not sure how to start, so to scratch that blogging itch, I’ll post here instead, since I made something nice today.

Since it’s starting to get warmer here in Beijing (High 30C – Low 18C), we tend to want to eat something fresh, light, and not too heavy. And like every Beijing summer, we never fail to make Cold Noodles. It’s easy and we get to put as much coriander (YUM!) as we want.

 

Photo by geraldine_cuason
 
Photo courtesy of my Instagram account
 

Ingredients:

Dried wheat noodles
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tbsp peanuts – ground
2 spring onions, finely sliced
1 small carrot – shredded
1/2 cucumber – shredded
handful coriander

Sauce:
3 tbsp sesame paste
1 cup water (preferably hot)
4 tsp black soy sauce
1 tsp sugar
1/2 teaspoon Sichuan peppercorn powder
1-2 tbsp white vinegar
2 tsp chili oil

Method:
1. To mix the sauce: place sesame paste in bottom of bowl, add hot water slowly and mix well. Add the soy sauce, sugar, Sichuan pepper, while stirring continuously, then add chili oil and vinegar. Blend well.

2. Cook the wheat noodles according to the packet instructions. Mine says soak the noodles in 50°C water for 10-15 minutes. Drain, wash in cold water, then drain and place in a large bowl, drizzle the sesame oil and mix well.

3. Mix in the carrots, cucumber and cilantro, pour the sauce, and with your clean hands, mix well but handle with care 😉

4. Serve in a bowl, top with crushed peanuts and spring onions.

Postnote:

I was a bit hesitant to make more cold noodles with sesame paste as the other week, I made some cold noodles for myself, and the sauce being so good that it was, I drank the dregs (about half a cup) after. And my god, in just 2 hours, I was shitting myself so bad that I was actually pissing sesame paste (think peanut butter) through my ass, I got so sick with diarrhea the whole night that I got dehydrated the next day, AND was still sick after 24 hours. Sorry for the rather gross detail, but thank got there were not much stomach pains.

It’s now 3 hours after I had this recipe, and I’m still good. WHEW.

Leave a Reply

