Spicy Pork Lettuce Wraps

Oh dear, last post was May?? No excuses, I don’t know what happened!

Since me and Chef are both on a diet (he’s on paleo, I eat whatever he prepares), my scope of food choices has gone down. No bread, no rice, no pasta when I’m with Chef. Do you know how hard it is for this Asian to forego rice? It’s not that bad, but it’s hard.

One afternoon while on the bus from work (while Chef is away on a shoot and coming back just in time for dinner), I suddenly had a craving for wraps.

I’ve combined two recipes from the internet: Sweet & Spicy Pork Lettuce Wraps and Spicy mince & lettuce cups.

Pork Cabbage Wraps-4606

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1/2 cup onion, diced
ginger, peeled and grated
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2 red chillies, deseeded and finely sliced
1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced
500g minced pork
3 spoons coconut sugar
2 tbsp fish sauce
juice 1 lime
pepper to taste

To serve:
Lettuce or cabbage leaves
Mint, chopped
Carrots, chopped
Cucumber, chopped
Spring onions, chopped
Peanuts, roughly chopped
Wedges of lime

Method:
1. Heat the sesame oil. Slow cook the onion for a few minutes, then ginger, garlic and chillies for a minute. Add the red pepper, cook for another minute. Add the pork, high heat this time, and cook until golden brown, sprinkle the sugar, lime juice, fish sauce and cook everything down until a bit sticky.

2. Tip the mince into a serving bowl, then serve with a bowl of lettuce leaves for wrapping the mince in; the herbs, peanuts for scattering over; and the lime wedges for squeezing.

Pork Cabbage Wraps-4602

To end this post, let me tell you something about cabbages and lettuce. They both look freaking the same. And Royal Chef gets angry at me for buying the other when I was supposed to get the other (lettuce OR cabbage); so angry that he says “oh yeah, I’ll mix up red wine and white wine in the future”, wtf? doesn’t make sense!!

So for this meal, I bought BOTH, for safety. Personally, lettuce works better as cabbage was a bit too thick.

My instagram rant here.

Leave a Reply

